Deirdre Volunteer Service Award

Deirdre Volunteer Service Award
Posted on 06/30/2022

The Townwide PTO is pleased to announce that the winner of the first annual “Deirdre Volunteer Service Award" is:


 Pam Neely



The Deirdre Volunteer Service Award was founded in the loving memory of a devoted Abington Public Schools parent volunteer. Deirdre devoted many hours to Abington and its school community to champion inclusion, expand programming, and improve childhood education. She was a constant presence at PTO and School Committee meetings, where she advocated passionately for full-day kindergarten and many other programs and activities that benefited Abington students. Her legacy will live on through the establishment of this volunteer service award.


The Deirdre Volunteer Service Award will be presented to a caregiver annually for their voluntary participation in service activities that help improve both the Abington Public Schools and its community in ways that emulate Deirdre's dedication. Examples of this type of dedication include:


  • event creation or organization
  •  fundraising (creation, execution, organization)
  • advocating for educational initiatives, school funding, or programming
  • executing activities beyond the intended expectation


The Townwide PTO also wishes to congratulate all of the nominees for the award:


  • Rachel Collins
  • Melissa Merrick
  • Susan Nash
  • Melanie Whitney
  • Katie Williamson