• school front18
  • lmc
  • stage
  • hs cafe
  • fitness
  • AEEP Front18
  • WES Front 2
  • BBES Front 20180502
  • BBES Laptops in Class

    The mission of the Abington Public Schools is to provide all students with relevant, challenging educational experiences to prepare them to be engaged, responsible citizens and members of the global community.

  • BBES2018223-1r
  • AMS20180201-3a
  • 2019 State Champs
  • AHS4

Latest News

Things Worth Knowing please click here for the latest August APS district news...
School Committee Meeting
The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Abington School Committee is TBA.

Reopening Powerpoint presentation from July 29, 2020 school committee meeting.
Read More
Alternate Bus Stop Applications - English and Portuguese Please click the link for 2020-2021 Alternate Stop Bus Applications - 
English Application...
Portuguese Application...
Green Wave Boosters Selling Masks - $10.00
The Green Wave Boosters are selling Green Wave masks for $10. All proceeds will benefit the Green Wave Boosters which support the student athletes at Abington High School. To order a mask please contact Booster President Melissa Merrick at
Class of 2020 Athletic Awards Show
We are excited to share the premier of the Class of 2020 Athletic Awards show will be Sunday July 19 at 8 PM on Abington CAM (Comcast 14 / Verizon 26) and on their YouTube channel
We were unable to have our traditional awards ceremony, however, we were able to create a 35 minute show that presents the traditional athletic awards as well as celebrates and recognizes the accomplishments of the Class of 2020.

Message from the Superintendent

Dear Abington School Community,

I am writing with an update on our planning process for the start of a new school year in Abington.  We all know that the start of the year will bring a great many challenges and changes. 

This year, Massachusetts schools will be delaying the first day of school for students to better prepare for a safe and successful reopening. Teachers and staff will be reporting on Aug. 31 and will engage in training, professional development, collaboration and planning for ten (10) days. Student learning will begin on September 16, 2020.

Our plans for the opening of school continues to be guided by monitoring of public health data in Abington and Massachusetts, and we are encouraged that indicators about the virus continue to remain low. The Commonwealth’s careful and disciplined approach has enabled our state gradually to begin reopening, in part because of strong compliance with health and safety precautions. In addition, we have been using the school re-opening guidance provided by DESE, consistent with recommendations from the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) and the American Pediatric Association. Following these requirements, we can make significant changes in our school schedules and operating procedures to make a partial return to in-person learning both safe and successful. Therefore, our current planning is for a hybrid or blended at school and at home return for the start of the year. Under this hybrid plan, students will be in-person two days and learning at home 3 days a week.   We know that you have childcare and plans for your family that need to be coordinated.  We will provide much more information and detail as soon as possible.

This approach will require strategies to ensure physical distancing, as well as a series of other critical health and safety measures, including wearing face coverings, washing hands frequently, cleaning and sanitizing facilities, screening regularly for symptoms of illness, and staying home from school when sick, among others. Our planning process includes a comprehensive set of strategies and investments to minimize the risk of transmitting the virus.
Please click the link for the complete New School Year letter...

2020-2021 School Year Opening PP - July 29, 2020...
Peter Schafer