Student Work Permit

INSTRUCTIONS FOR OBTAINING A WORK PERMIT

OBTAINING A WORK PERMIT IS A 2 STEP PROCESS.
MASSACHUSETTS STATE LAW: ALL MINORS MUST OBTAIN AND HAVE FILLED OUT THE PROMISE OF EMPLOYMENT FORM FOR 14 THROUGH 17-YEAR-OLDS BEFORE A WORK PERMIT CAN BE ISSUED.

After June 13, 2024, work permit inquiries and processing should be directed to the Central Office, located at 1071 Washington Street (Frolio School) from 8 am to 3 pm. Beginning July 10, 2024, AHS Guidance will be open Wednesdays only, from 9am-1pm.  Please call or email first. 


STEP ONE:
Employment Permit Application forms (Promise of Employment Forms) can be picked up at:

14- and 15-year-oldsThere are 4 sections that MUST be filled out and signed on the Employment Permit Application before the Work Permit can be issued:

    1. The first section is completed and signed by the employer.
    2. The second section is completed and signed by the Doctor’s office of Medical Office where the minor had a physical within the last year. We cannot accept a copy of a physical; this has to be signed by a physician according to State Law.
    3. The third section is filled out and signed by the parent or guardian of the minor.
    4. The fourth section is signed and dated by the minor.

16- and 17-year-oldsThere are 3 sections that must be filled out and signed on the Employment Permit Application before the Work Permit can be issued.

    1. The first section is completed and signed by the employer.
    2. The third section is filled out and signed by the parent or guardian of the minor.
    3. The fourth section is signed and dated by the minor.


STEP TWO:

The Minor must bring the completed Employment Permit Application form to the Abington High School Guidance Office, 201 Gliniewicz Way (Office hours 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. – -Mon.-Fri.)  where the Work Permit will be filled out by the Authorized Agent. Documents MUST be originals, fax or copies will NOT be accepted. THE AUTHORIZED AGENT, MUST BY LAW, WITNESS THE MINOR SIGNING THE WORK PERMIT once it is ready BEFORE IT CAN BE ISSUED.  (The minor must be there to pick up the final permit and sign it). *If not an Abington Public Schools studentPlease bring- 1. A document that shows student name, date of birth and address in Abington (i.e. transcript, report card, State ID).  2. A Photo ID.  BOTH documents are required.


A work permit is required for each, and every job held until the age of 18.

A complete summary of the Massachusetts laws regulating child labor, including the recent changes, may be found on the Youth Employment Page on the MA Division of Occupational Safety (DOS) website:http://www.mass.gov/dos/youth

WORK PERMIT APPLICATION...